New beginnings – more scribblings

So, the little and often approach to my writing continues. Last weekend I dedicated around 6 hours to the Writers’ Bureau Creative Writing Course and I am really enjoying it.  I wrote three letters for different publications and one filler of 500 words.  It might seem like small fry to more seasoned writers, but we all have to begin somewhere.

smallfry

Of course, I’m not going to admit how much time I’ve spent re-drafting such simple fayre  but I’m willing to believe that it’s worth it.  I’m planning to continue with the momentum. At the moment I write for about 10 minutes when I get into work.  Just a basic draft for my blog and then I try to write for between 1 -2 hours at night.

idealimageofwriting

That’s the plan.  It never works out quite like that; life in the form of husbands, cats, phone calls, daughter and granddaughter, tend to interrupt.  My daughter doesn’t live with us and she manages to interrupt me on a pretty regular basis.  In fact, I’m sure that she’s got a built in radar that picks up when I’ve settled down to write, sew, read, watch a film.  Of course she has, she’s my daughter.  Your kids can sniff these things out in a moment.  Pour a glass of wine and just wait for the phone to ring asking you for a lift because they’ve missed the bus.

Anyway, I digress.  So: writing.  This blog is a key part of it, it is perfect practice and, eventually it could bring me an audience.  What I don’t understand is why I’ve waited this long.  I’m fifty this year and I’ve been banging on about being a writer since I was a little girl.  Literally! So why haven’t I been writing?  Good question.  The only answer that I can really give is that I’m writing now.

writingrealityofmewriting

And I am going to continue.  In fact my writing programme is as follows until further notice:

better-writer-graphic

One thought on “New beginnings – more scribblings

  1. Hey Sarah, well done I’m sure the blog will become a fairly large part of the process. Everyone I know who writes one loves it, especially when they get comments and feedback. Keep on! Joannaxxx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

