A Writer in Training – Lessons Learnt

It’s fascinating being a writer in training; I keep finding out lots of things that I didn’t know such as it is going to take a lot more than banging out my first novel to get published. Particularly as I wrote that novel as a response to a Mills and Boon’s writing competition and therefore wrote the novel that I thought they were looking for rather than the novel that I wanted to write. I didn’t win the competition, didn’t even get short-listed, but I’m so glad that I went through the whole process because I have learnt the following:

  1. Just because I’m an English teacher doesn’t mean that my first attempt at writing will get results.
  2. I can’t shoe horn my writing into someone else’s formula.
  3. Don’t give up.
  4. I need to find a structure to  hang my writing routines around; the writing course that I am working on is as good as any.
  5. Write every day.
  6. I can sit down and write a whole novel within a very few months – not a good novel but a novel none-the-less.
  7. Said novel needs significant re-drafting, possibly leading nowhere other than serving as good practice.
  8. I have lots of ideas.
  9. Don’t give up.
  10. I should try my hand at a few short stories.

lessons%20learned

I wonder what else I am going to learn. Actually, I already know what I want to learn: how to use Wattpad. I may have a go at writing something to publish on there. So I guess that I’m going to learn whether I can write short stories or not. Or how to. Or possibly how not to.

Whatever, it’s all exciting stuff and I love it. And while I’m talking about lessons learned…

better-writer-graphic

Leave a Reply

