Liebster Award

I am really excited to have been nominated for the Liebster Award by the lovely  autumnchocolatebooks-I love her blog and it is well worth checking out.

And also, a big thank you to anyone who follows, likes or leaves comments on this blog – I really appreciate all your support!

Anyway, without further ado, here are the rules of the Liebster Award:

wp-1465356493403

The eleven questions I was given were:

  1. What is your best childhood memory?
  2. What do you feel most proud of?
  3. If you could only have one snack / dessert what would it be and why?
  4. What motivated you to start your blog?
  5. What teacher in school made the most impact on you and why?
  6. How do you spend your free time?
  7. What are your top three favourite books and why?
  8. What is your biggest fear?
  9. What is your strongest personal quality?
  10. If there was one thing you could tell your 15 year old self what would it be?
  11. What does a perfect day look like to you?
  1. It has to be a Christmas one: I love Christmas and I really loved it when I was a child. The Christmas that stands out in mind was when I was around 6 or 7 and I had this huge doll and a pram. There were lots of different clothes to dress the doll up in and I loved it. The really poignant thing is that I later found out my dad’s business was in danger at the time and my parents nearly lost their house. All of our presents that year were second hand or home made. That’s probably what made them so special.
  2. This has to be getting my degree – I was a single mother and my final year was not an easy one. That certificate has given me choices at a time when I was really unhappy in work.
  3. I think it would have to be a really dense  chocolate mouse with fresh raspberries. Yummy!
  4. I decided that it was high time I took my writing more seriously. I started a writing course and set up a blog. It has taken me a while to get into it but I love it.
  5. Strangely as I am an English teacher and English is my first love, the teacher who had the most impact on me at school was a Maths teacher. Because of her I loved Maths, she made it so accessible and real. When I got a different Maths teacher for my final two years, my grades went down hill fast. I will never forget her teaching us percentages and telling us about how she cried when her first mortgage statement came through and she saw the percentage of interest that the bank was taking. It made me just love her!
  6. Writing, whenever I can; reading – of course! Sewing, although this takes a back seat when I’m into a piece of writing and the gym – I treat that as if it’s part of my working day and I really love it.
  7. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen – so witty and it has so much to say about the plight of women in Austen’s time. If I’m allowed a play then The Importance of Being Earnest – it’s just perfect. I love Harry Potter because J.K Rowling is so inspirational but there are so many more.
  8. Losing someone I love. It terrifies me.
  9. When I decide to do something, I am pretty much relentless. It drives my poor husband a bit  mad at times.
  10. Start writing now. Don’t wait for inspiration just jot things down, thoughts, ideas, short stories, whatever!
  11. A perfect day for me is a lovely spring day. When the world is warming up but is not yet too hot. It would be spent in the garden reading and writing. I would have the whole day to myself and the luxury of all that time to dip into the latest book that I’m reading and to get on with some writing would be just perfect.

Eleven facts about me are:

  1. I am discovering the joys of being 50; against all the odds, in my view.
  2. I am really close to my brother and I hate it that he’s working abroad at the moment.
  3. I’m a cat lover.
  4. I love red wine and chocolate.
  5. I’ve written a romantic novel and now I want to try something a little different.
  6. I love London; it’s one of my favourite places to be.
  7. I would love to learn another language.
  8. I want to go to Thailand to meet my sister in law’s family; they live in a rural Thai village and I am really looking forward to meeting them.
  9. I am about to start an MA in Creative Writing.
  10. I am a grandmother and I love it.
  11. I am a secret murder mystery fan.

The five people I nominate are:

  1. excaliburthehoodnerd
  2. The Aeolian Harp
  3. Lauren is Reading
  4. Ephereal Blogs
  5. Madi Uram

And your questions are:

  1. What is your best childhood memory?
  2. What do you feel most proud of?
  3. If you could have any pet what would it be and why?
  4. What makes you angry?
  5. What teacher in school made the most impact on you and why?
  6. How do you spend your free time?
  7. What are your top three favourite books and why?
  8. What is your biggest fear?
  9. What is your strongest personal quality?
  10. If you could meet anyone from any time, who would it be?
  11. What does a perfect day look like to you?

I loved doing this. I look forward to reading your responses!

Leave a Reply

